Leicester Comedy Festival award nomination

It is with great pleasure that I can announce that my debut stand up comedy show has been nominated for best new show at the Leicester Comedy Festival.Considering the Leicester Comedy Festival gig was also the first time I’d performed an hour long show, I was pretty surprised when I received the news about my nomination!

If I’m honest, it was a lovely gig with a lovely crowd and I enjoyed it very much….even if it did tire me out a bit.

The fact that people enjoyed it that much to put me on a short list of only six shows is a huge compliment. Thank you if you came to see me in Leicester or helped to put on my show. Winners are announced on March 11th but, until then, here is the press release about it from the Leicester Comedy Festival…

Comedians and venues who took part in Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival 2013 have been announced as nominees in the annual awards organised to celebrate the event. Nominees include comedians Charlie Baker, Lee Ridley, Anthony King, Rhys Matthewson, Romesh Ranganathan, Paul Currie and Nish Kumar. Venues which have been recognised for their contribution to the event include The Crumblin’ Cookie, Dave’s Curry House, Curve, The Criterion and The Belmont Hotel. The awards, set up in 2006, recognise the contribution people make to the February festival and include awards for Best Show, Best Venue, Best Make Me Happy community project and Contribution to Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival 2013. The first Legend of Comedy Award will also be presented at the ceremony. Winners will be announced at a private ceremony taking place at The City Rooms, Leicester on Monday 11th March.

Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival 2013 took place from 8-24th February and featured over 530 events in 60 venues across Leicester and Leicestershire. Over 500 performers appeared and audiences flocked from across the UK to the event, the longest running comedy festival in Europe.

This year the majority of the awards have been decided by a group of members of the public who applied to become judges. 9 comedy fans were selected to see over 350 shows and visit venues across Leicester and Leicestershire in order to decide the winners. The judges will help present the awards at the ceremony, along with special guests and VIPs.

Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival Director, Geoff Rowe, said:
“The Festival awards are a great way for us to acknowledge the performers, venues and other people who contribute so much to the annual festival. I’m delighted to be able to announce the nominations and look forward to opening the golden envelopes at the main ceremony and announcing the winners.”

The full list of nominees is (in alphabetical order):

Best Venue (over 200 capacity):
De Montfort Hall
Just the Tonic
The Little Theatre
The Y

Best Venue (under 200 capacity):
Dave’s Curry House
The Belmont Hotel
The Criterion
The Crumblin’ Cookie

Best New Show:
Anthony King – Not Normal
Brett Goldstein – Contains Scenes of an Adult Nature
Charlie Baker – Work in Progress
Geoff Norcott – Farewell Shiny Suit
Lee Ridley – Voice of Choice
Rhys Matthewson

Best Show:
Barbara Steele’s Wheels of Steel
Francesca Martinez – What the *** is Normal?
Nish Kumar – Who is Nish Kumar?
Paul Currie – The Sticky Bivouac
Romesh Ranganathan – Rom Com

Best Promoter:
Bottle Rocket Comedy
Just the Tonic
The Y

Contribution to Dave’s Leicester Comedy Festival 2013:
Andy Hollingworth & East Midlands Trains
Demon FM
Maria Jeppersen
Mark Olver

Make Me Happy community project:
DMU Square Miles Smiles
I Love Apex
Old Folks Telling Jokes
Regent College
Rob Gee